No Crust, Less Fuss: Broccoli and Feta Quiche

18 Feb

 

I love eggs, I love broccoli and I love cheese. They are so flexible and useful that they are natural convenience foods and I usually have all of the above in my fridge at any given moment. Like today, when I got a craving for a simple dinner with some charm. Quiche would’ve been perfect, except that the crust is a big pain, and adds more dough than I really want after a long winter of indolence.

 Then I remembered a Vegetarian Times recipe that eliminated the crust. I thought, “Hey! Why didn’t I think of that?” and adapted it to what I had in the house.

Fifteen minutes of prep (and about 40 minutes in the oven) yielded a tasty and light combo of my favorite things. It was cozy out of the oven, but crumbly to cut proper slices. I will have more tomorrow morning for breakfast — quite possibly cold. My son is demonstrating great interest, so we’ll see if we can tempt him into giving it a try, ’cause it has potential to be good breakfast food for eating in the car (heavy sigh). If not, well I have the leftover yolks mixed with a bit of water and stored in fridge for scrambled eggs for his breakfast.

No Crust Broccoli and Feta Quiche

1 lb. broccoli crowns, cut into tiny little trees

½ Tbsp olive oil

1 onion, peeled and quartered

2 cloves garlic, peeled

5 oz. feta

2 large eggs

5 large egg whites

Preheat oven to 425°. Grease a 9”x5” baking pan (you will put it in the oven to warm up a few minutes before pouring in the egg mixture). Toss broccoli with oil in a bowl.

Put onions and garlic for a spin in the food processor until they are minced. Then add the feta and process until creamy.  Add eggs and egg whites* and process until smooth. Crack a bit of pepper over it.

Remove warmed pan from oven, add broccoli, then pour egg mixture over, stirring to mix. Cook about 35 minutes (40 if using a glass baking dish) or until the top is light brown and a tester inserted comes out clean.

*To separate whites from yolks, crack the eggs and gently pass the yolk from one half to the other, allowing the whites to drain into the bowl. Save the yolks for another purpose by mixing with water (just a bit) and storing tightly sealed in the fridge overnight.

7 Responses to “No Crust, Less Fuss: Broccoli and Feta Quiche”

  1. lillagreca February 21, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious! My fiancé and I both loved it so I’m definitely making this again! 🙂

    • nataliadecuba February 21, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

      Thanks so much for the feedback! Please post any modifications you use; I am here to learn!

  2. lillagreca February 19, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    This sounds and looks soooo good! I’m going to try it soon! Thanks for sharing! =)

  3. Lorraine February 18, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    love quiche with all the trimmings (i.e. the crust) but this recipe
    sounds quite tantalizing AND EASY! will give it a try…

  4. Sarah February 18, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    Sounds yum! Can’t wait to try it.

  5. Michelle K February 18, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    This sounds YUMMYLICIOUS!! I’m going to try it for sure!!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Best of 2011 – closing the year with my Top Five « Hot, Cheap & Easy - December 31, 2011

    […] No-Crust Broccoli and Feta Quiche […]

Talk foodie to me, baby...